# COMMUNITY EDUCATION COUNCIL DISTRICT 28 Annual/Business Meeting Minutes July 6, 2023

#### **ATTENDANCE**

Member	Position	Attendance
Vijah Ramjattan	President	Present
Lu Zhao	1st Vice President	Present
Nurun Swapna	2nd Vice President	Present
Nathifa Lewis	Recording Secretary	Present
Yutao Cheng	Treasurer	Present
Jay Lin	Member	Present
Julie Suh	Member	Present
Mohammad Hossain	Member	Present
Quentin Mezetin	Member	Present
Christine Sacristano	Member	Absent

NON-MEMBER ATTENDANCE

Dr. Eric Blake	Acting	Drocont
Dr. Eric Blake	Acting	Present
	Superintendent	

#### **ANNUAL MEETING Minutes**

Meeting was called to order by Council Member Vijah Ramjattan at 6:42pm Roll call by Administrative Assistant Dorinda Seemangal and Quorum was met.

- Council Member Vijah Ramjattan opened the meeting and gave greetings.
- Council Vijah Ramjattan asked each Council Member to introduced themselves to the Community
- Deputy Superintendent Dr. Hall introduced D28 Acting Superintendent Dr. Eric Blake
- Dr. Blake introduced himself to the Community
- District 28 Family Leadership Coordinator Sonia Rueda gave greetings and updated the Community
- UFT District 28 Representative Bruce Zihal gave greetings and updated the Community
- President of D28 Presidents Council Adrianna Alicea gave greetings and updated the Community
- Administrative Assistant introduced herself to the Council Members and Community
- Council Members decided amongst themselves to proceed with their Annual Meeting virtually instead of holding a Special Meeting
- Council Member Nathifa Lewis made a motion to transition to the format of the Annual Meeting

Seconded by Council Member Vijah Ramjattan

Roll call by Administrative Assistant Dorinda Seemangal

9 in favor; **0** opposed; 1 absent – Motion passed

- At 7:28pm Council Member Vijah Ramjattan called the meeting to order and explained the Annual meeting process
  - Roll call by Administrative Assistant Dorinda Seemangal
- Council Member Vijah Ramjattan explained the Election process
- Council Member Nathifa Lewis volunteered to be the Protem
   7 Council Members raised and agreed that Council Member Nathifa Lewis should be Protem
- Council Member Nathifa Lewis read script
- Council Member Lu Zhao nominated Council Member Vijah Ramjattan for President

Seconded by Council Member Mohammad Hossain

Council Member Vijah Ramjattan accepted the nomination and gave his acceptance speech

Roll call by Council Member Nathifa Lewis

9 in favor; 0 opposed; 0 abstention; 1 absent

Council Member Vijah Ramjattan has been elected President

- President Ramjattan took over script from Council Member Nathifa Lewis
- Council Member Nurun Swapna self-nominated herself for 1st Vice President
- Council Member Nathifa Lewis self-nominated herself for 1st Vice President
- President Ramjattan nominated Council Member Lu Zhao for 1st Vice President
- Council Member Quentin Mezetin nominated Council Member Nathifa Lewis for 1st Vice President
- Council Member Jay Lin nominated Council Member Lu Zhao for 1st Vice President
- President Ramjattan called each candidate in order of nomination to make a statement up to two minutes

Roll call by President Ramjattan

4 in favor for Member Lu Zhao, 4 in favor for Member Nathifa Lewis, 0 in favor for Member Nurun Swapna; 0 opposed; 0 abstention; 1 absent

- President Ramjattan announced that the office of 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President will be tabled
- Council Member Yutao Cheng nominated Council Member Nurun Swampa for 2nd Vice President

Council Member Mohammad Hossain nominated Council Member Nurun Swampa for 2nd Vice President

Council Member Nurun Swapna accepted the nomination and gave her acceptance speech

Roll call by President Ramjattan

9 in favor; 0 opposed; 0 abstention; 1 absent

Council Member Nurun Swapna has been elected as 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President

 Council Member Nathifa Lewis nominated Council Member Quentin Mezetin for Treasurer

Council Member Yutao Cheng self-nominated himself for Treasurer Council Member Lu Zhao explained the Treasurer's job description

President Ramjattan called each candidate in alphabetical order to make a statement up to two minutes

Council Member Quentin Mezetin declined the nomination

Council Member Yutao Cheng accepted the nomination and gave his acceptance speech

- Roll call by President Ramjattan
  - 9 in favor; 0 opposed; 0 abstention; 1 absent
  - Council Member Yutao Cheng has been elected as Treasurer
- Council Member Nathifa Lewis self-nominated herself for Recording Secretary Council Member Nathifa Lewis announced that she is withdrawing from 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President nomination and running for Recording Secretary instead President Ramjattan called each candidate in alphabetical order to make a statement up to two minutes
  - Council Member Nathifa Lewis accepted the nomination and gave her acceptance speech
  - Roll call by Recording President Ramjattan
  - 9 in favor; 0 opposed; 0 abstention; 1 absent
- Recording Secretary suggested Council Members do a redo the vote for 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President
- Council Member Jay Lin nominated Council Member Lu Zhao for 1st Vice President
- Council Member Nurun Swapna nominated Council Member Lu Zhao for 1st Vice President
- Council Member Mohammad Hossain nominated Council Member Lu Zhao for 1st Vice President
- Council Member Quentin Mezetin nominated Council Member Lu Zhao for 1st Vice President
  - Lu Zhao accepted the nomination and gave his acceptance speech
  - Roll call by Recording Secretary Nathifa Lewis
  - 9 in favor; 0 opposed; 0 abstention; 1 absent
  - Council Member Lu Zhao has been elected as 1st Vice President
  - President Ramjattan announced that all positions have been filled
- President Ramjattan asked each Council Member to make a statement
- President Ramjattan asked Dr. Blake to make a statement
- President Ramjattan asked Dr. Hall to make a statement

#### Meeting Adjourned at 8:26pm

## BUSINESS MEETING MINUTES ATTENDANCE

Member	Position	Attendance
Vijah Ramjattan	President	Present
Lu Zhao	1st Vice President	Present
Nurun Swapna	2nd Vice President	Present
Nathifa Lewis	Recording Secretary	Present
Yutao Cheng	Treasurer	Present
Jay Lin	Member	Present
Julie Suh	Member	Present
Mohammad Hossain	Member	Present
Quentin Mezetin	Member	Present
Christine Sacristano	Member	Absent

Meeting was called to order by President Ramjattan at 8:33pm Roll call by Recording Secretary Nathifa Lewis

Council Members discuss the Committees amongst themselves Council Members formed Committee groups amongst themselves

Council Members discussed the budget amongst themselves
Council Members modified the budget amongst themselves
President Ramjattan made a motion to adopt the preliminary budget for 2023-2024
Roll call by Recording Secretary Nathifa Lewis
9 in favor; 0 opposed; 0 abstention; 1 absent - Motion passed

Hybrid meeting procedures were discussed amongst Council Members Council Members agreed to do with Hybrid Calendar and Business meetings at the district office going forward

Motion was made by President Ramjattan to adopt June's Minutes Seconded by Member Quentin Mezetin

#### **Business Meeting Adjourned at [ 10:00pm]**

### Respectfully Adopted by

Nathifa Lewis Recording Secretary